A few thoughts about being thankful

Autumn.

I love this time of year. Chilly evenings… sweaters… hot chocolate… fireplaces… football… Halloween… And most of all… Thanksgiving.

I love Thanksgiving. In fact, the further I travel on this path, the more I appreciate it. So much so, that I think I like it more than Christmas. No… I am certain that I like Thanksgiving more.

Even though I’m a marketer – someone who makes a living by showing people why one product is better than another; why they should choose me over Brand X – I truly appreciate the opportunity to stop pushing and struggling to move forward and instead stop for a moment and be thankful for what I have.

Sure, turkey and dressing, getting together with family, and taking a few days off work are all great, but it’s the reflection on our blessings that I appreciate the most. When we slow down and think about how fortunate we are to be living in this country during this amazing time, it’s humbling.

My short list of things I am thankful for include:

  • My wife and daughter (and our dog, Buddy)
  • My friends, clients and employer(s)
  • Living in this vibrant, growing city
  • The freedom to dream big

What about you?

